Ham Operator Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Author Topic: Torroids..can I use stranded wire instead of solid?  (Read 3012 times)

W1SFR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Torroids..can I use stranded wire instead of solid?
« on: June 29, 2013, 06:03:55 AM »

I want to make some EFHW antennas and instructions for winding the torroids says to use #22 solid core wire. Can't I just use stranded? I mean, how much difference could it make?

W1SFR
Steve
Logged

W7TFO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Torroids..can I use stranded wire instead of solid?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2013, 10:05:20 AM »

I have seen many such transformers wound with stranded for both power and RF use.

There may be a slight difference in performance, testing will get it closer to your target.

73DG

Logged

W1SFR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Torroids..can I use stranded wire instead of solid?
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2013, 12:02:17 PM »

Thanks!
Logged